• SC Writer's Workshop is offering webinars! Click for more information.


Established in 1990, the South Carolina Writers’ Workshop is a literary arts organization serving both new and established writers. For more information, consult our Join Us page.


Congratulations to the winners of the Carrie McCray Literary Memorial Awards:

First Chapter of a Novel:

First Place: Skip Shockley for Samuel’s Gold

Second Place: Carl DiLorenzo for The Final Curtain

Creative Nonfiction:

First Place: Jayne Bowers for Come On, Sweet Boy

Second Place: Adrienne Mathues for The Waltz

* only two submissions were qualified to be awarded prizes

Short Fiction:

First Place: Kasie Whitener for Cover Up

Second Place: Shaylene Scandale for I Never Knew You

Third Place: Veronica Abrams for T.V. Bride


First Place: Kim Blum-Hyclack for Slipping

Second Place: Michael Crowley for Chatter Through the Ether

Third Place: Greg Lobas for Plasma Dawn